Another ban on modern firearms has been introduced in the Oregon Legislature. You know where this will go.

HB 3223 is essentially a copy of IP 43, the ballot measure we defeated last year. Of course, it has an “emergency clause”.
The bills summary says . “Requires person who owns assault weapon on effective date of Act to register assault weapon or take other specified action within one year of effective date of Act. Defines terms. Punishes violation by maximum of $2,000 fine, or by maximum of six months’ imprisonment, $2,500 fine, or both, for second and subsequent convictions. Prohibits manufacture, transfer or possession of assault weapon except in specified circumstances. Punishes by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Requires report of loss or theft of assault weapon. Punishes failure to report by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Provides that information in report may not be used in prosecution for possession or transfer of assault weapon. Declares emergency, effective on passage.”
The bill would effectively ban virtually all modern firearms unless the owner “registered” them with the police. The owner would have virtually no way to practically transfer the outlawed firearms to another person. The sponsors of the bill would allow you to move the guns out of the state. Or, of course you could simply move yourself out of the state.*
Possessing your dad’s M1 Carbine will get you a year in the slammer and a fine of* $6250.00
To see more info on this bill and its sponsors click here.
If you want to track this bill you can also use that link to “e subscribe” to that bill and any other bill you want to get alerts about. Just click on “Follow this bill” in the upper right corner of that page.
States that have created gun registries have used them to confiscate firearms and you can rest assured that is the goal here.
Furthermore, an additional* “lock up” bill has been introduced. SB 817* *“Creates crime of unlawful storage of firearm. Punishes by maximum of 364 days’ imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both. Punishes second and subsequent convictions by maximum of five years’ imprisonment, $125,000 fine, or both. Requires gun dealers to post notice concerning obligation to store firearms in safe manner.”
You get more info on that bill and its sponsors and subscribe for updates on the bill here.
You can still use this link to express your opposition to these attacks on your right and on sanity.
The post Another Gun Ban Introduced appeared first on Oregon Firearms Federation.